Run Donald, Run! Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 25 Jun 2018 03:36:54 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Jun 23, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-23-2018.html <p>2E + 6M + 1E + 6M + 2E. M = 8.2mph. (17 in 1:27:50)</p> <p>Little fore-ankle sensitivity on mile 5 in the second split. Last about 3-4 minutes and then subsided.</p> Sat, 23 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 22, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-22-2018.html <p>Early morning treadmill run (at work, since lunch time is already scheduled with other things). Did some strides at the end. Ready for a marathon-pace workout tomorrow morning. (6.5 in 50:46)</p> <p>Took Ellie out running in the stroller to and from Reed&#39;s Dairy for our weekly Daddy-Daughter Date. She really enjoys the trip, and always wants to see the animals both before and after having an ice cream cone. (0.98 miles to, and 1.14 miles from)</p> Fri, 22 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 21, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-21-2018.html <p>Lunch run. Kinda tired. Legs were complaining, even at a pretty light effort. (6 in 49:00)</p> Thu, 21 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 20, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-20-2018.html <p>Weird morning. My normal work day involves getting up to a 4:30am alarm. Somehow I woke up at 12:30am this morning, and didn&#39;t even pay attention to the hour. I had a hot breakfast, and walked to the bus stop to catch the normal 5:24am pickup. Only then did I realize that it was actually 1:20am, not 5:20am...so I went back home. Wasn&#39;t ready to go to sleep right away after eating breakfast and getting ready. Did a few things, then went to sleep. Slept through my normal alarm and woke up at 5:27am (3 minutes after the bus passes the stop). So I just called it a morning at home, went running, and walked to catch one of the mid-day busses. So yeah...it was a weird morning and a very early breakfast. (7.8 in 1:01:38)</p> Wed, 20 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 19, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-19-2018.html <p>First workout in a while. I&#39;ll ease my way into 1-2 workouts/week.</p> <p>3x1T (7:04,7:12,and 7:02) with minute recoveries. Later, during cooldown, 6 comfortable strides. Followed it all with some strength training. Felt really good, and I felt I could do a little more but that this was enough after a long hiatus. The splits on the miles were pretty consistent, considering the wind speeds. (6.16 in 46:45)</p> Evening treadmill run (5.3 in 41:44) Tue, 19 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 18, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-18-2018.html Easy lunch run with strides(6 in 48:43) Mon, 18 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 16, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-16-2018.html <p>Figured out how to watch Netflix from another country with a VPN. The last episode of Suits isn&#39;t on my amazon prime, but it is on British Netflix (makes sense that Britain would have it, considering Megan Markle&#39;s recent move to Britain). Anyways, I did a long run again today and felt pretty good, but not as good as yesterday (17.9 in 2:21:03)</p> Sat, 16 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 15, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-15-2018.html <p>Great easy-paced long run today. The greatest thing was that I didn&#39;t feel any ankle pain. I was ready to stop at any moment if I felt anything, and I didn&#39;t ever get any sensations, so wahoo! Didn&#39;t do anything special in the run except some hills. About 1000 ft elevation gain overall. (16.4 in 2:10:18)</p> Fri, 15 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 14, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-14-2018.html <p>Quick treadmill jaunt with some hills. Less time today. (4 in 31:18)</p> <p>No ankle pain during/after the lunch run today. Pretty happy about that.<br /> &nbsp;</p> 5.2 after work and still no sensitivity! (5.2 in 41:13) Thu, 14 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 13, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-13-2018.html <p>I had slight ankle discomfort yesterday and decided to call it off again. The past week and this week are going to be pretty low mileage. I also fasted from lunch time yesterday to lunch time today (24 hours total) for my sister who recently got out of the hospital. The last hour of those 24 hours was spent running. I&#39;ve never run at the end of a fast like that. The only thing I noticed was increased fatigue at the beginning of the run, but I felt better at the middle of the run, and started to feel tired again towards the end. (5.98 in 49:36)</p> Wed, 13 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 11, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-11-2018.html <p>Easy lunch run with some strides. Felt a little bit in the ankle but very little and a lot less than Saturday, which wasn&#39;t even that bad either. Been doing a lot of yard work to compensate! (5.9 in 45:48)</p> Mon, 11 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 09, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-09-2018.html <p>Short Saturday treadmill run. Stopped before my ankle did anything bad. (8 in 1:04:08)</p> Sat, 09 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 08, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-08-2018.html <p>More strength training this morning. A little from yesterday&#39;s. May attempt a small run later today.</p> <p>6 easy at lunch time. Didn&#39;t cause any noticeable discomfort, but walking a few hours I did feel a slight something. Might take tomorrow off.</p> Fri, 08 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Jun 07, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-07-2018.html <p>40 minutes of strength training in the morning.</p> Thu, 07 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Jun 06, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-06-2018.html <p>No running today. Just some long walks. Ankle is having new issues.</p> Wed, 06 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Jun 05, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-05-2018.html <p>Easy out in the wind (5.8 in 49:29)</p> <p>Then on the tready (2.6 in 20:55)</p> Tue, 05 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Jun 04, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-04-2018.html <p>It is starting to get warm here in SE Idaho. Easy day. Knee still feels a little weird. Other than that, just some little aches and pains that make me feel old...my work&#39;s annual mileage competition began on June 1st. Categories are: walking, jogging, swimming, biking, and steps. There might be an overall category as well which combines the first 4. Last year I got a $25 gift card to Bill&#39;s Bike &amp; Run for winning the jogging/overall categories. Hope to win something again this year! (7.33 in 59:38)</p> <p>Easy on the treadmill in the evening (5.4 in 42:29)</p> Mon, 04 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Jun 02, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-02-2018.html <p>Long run, with undulating hills, on treadmill. (15.6 in 2:04:03)</p> Sat, 02 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Jun 01, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-06-01-2018.html <p>Well I went back against my own plans and did a workout this morning:</p> <p>2 mile warm up. 6 sets of 1 mile @ lactic threshold with 1 minute recoveries. 6 sets of 200 meter repetitions with 200 meter recoveries. 1 mile recovery. 2 sets of 1 mile @ lactic threshold with 1 minute recovery. Long cooldown. (17.3 in 2:08:24)</p> Fri, 01 Jun 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 31, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-31-2018.html <p>Went for an outdoor lunch run today. Risked getting caught in what looked like some potentially heavy rain. Turned out to be 10 drops of rain at the most. Ran for an hour, and the knee is feeling better each day. Avoiding workouts for now... (7.42 in 59:20)</p> Thu, 31 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 30, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-30-2018.html <p>Easy miles at lunch time, then some weights (4.2 in 32:40)</p> Pre-dinner run (5.4 in 42:52) Wed, 30 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 29, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-29-2018.html <p>Cut my lunchtime run after moving 100 feet. My knee was very uncomfortable (I would describe it as a &quot;general discomfort&quot;) and I could not move with proper form because of it. Decided to wait and see how it would feel in the evening. Although still sore in the evening, it didn&#39;t mess up my form, and it seemed to relax during the run. I know I did a workout yesterday, but it wasn&#39;t THAT strenuous. The next few days should shed more light on the issue... (6.7 in 53:05)</p> <p>Put a little incline and decline on this treadmill run, as the Idaho Falls Half is not very flat...</p> Tue, 29 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 28, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-28-2018.html Some wobbly joints again today. Left knee and right ankle. Approximate M pace effort... Not as good as I wanted (12.51 in 1:37:16) Mon, 28 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 26, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-26-2018.html <p>Easy long run around Holladay, UT. South on Van Winkle, up Highland and then 2300 E, west on 3300 S, South on 700 E. Really pretty, but surprisingly few running paths so a lot of running on the side of the road. Seems like people are mostly out of town luckily.</p> Sat, 26 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 25, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-25-2018.html <p>Easy run at work in the early AM. My left knee has felt strangely loose during two runs this week. They weren&#39;t consecutive runs, either. Weird. Also a little strength training for shoulders and core. (6.3 in 49:51)</p> Fri, 25 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 24, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-24-2018.html <p>Easy long run in the early AM. (12.7 in 1:41:00)</p> <p>Pretty tired after a weird sleep schedule (pulling night shifts) and longer morning runs. I think I will skip my 2nd workout of the week.</p> Thu, 24 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 23, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-23-2018.html Easy miles in the morning (8 in 1:03:30) Wed, 23 May 2018 06:00:00