Run Donald, Run! Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com Tue, 20 Mar 2018 13:21:24 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Mon, Mar 19, 2018 <p>6.4 with strides (6.4 in 49:19)</p> <p>Really tired this afternoon. Need to sleep more...</p> Mon, 19 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 17, 2018 <p>72 min aerobic builder with 20 minute cooldown (12.1 in 1:30:23)</p> Sat, 17 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 16, 2018 <p>Easy run learning about China. (9 in 70:18)</p> <p>4.3 easy in the early afternoon. (4.3 in 34:28)</p> Fri, 16 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 15, 2018 <p>Easy while watching PBS doc on China. Such a long intact history, pretty neat! (12.3 in 1:36:59)</p> <p>Stayed home to attend in-town training today. After I got home, I took Ellie for her first stroller run of the year. Kept it pretty short, as I was tired, and we both wanted to eat. (1.68 in 15:00)</p> Thu, 15 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 14, 2018 <p>6.4 in the early morning at work gym. Feeling pretty good! (6.4 in 49:19)</p> <p>Easy after putting Ellie down for bed. (3 in 24:03)</p> Wed, 14 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 13, 2018 <p>Just weird symptoms today, but I feel great. I did a short run at lunch time OUTSIDE (it&#39;s supposed to get over 50 degrees here in Southeast Idaho today, wow). I was even sweating in my beanie at the calm pace I was using.</p> Tue, 13 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Mar 12, 2018 <p>Yesterday afternoon was the start of a very sudden onset of powerful flu symptoms. Fever and chills through the night. Didn&#39;t get out of bed for half of Monday. Then I had a big lunch and dinner. Now I am over the bad symptoms, and just have the annoying weird ones. I will at least go to work tomorrow, and may even go on a short jog. It is amazing how fast I got and how bad I felt, contrasted with just 12 hours before and after. I&#39;m really grateful it wasn&#39;t the 2 week flu that&#39;s been reported in the news lately. I really feel for those people now, as I had never had a bad flu til now (and being this short, it really wasn&#39;t THAT bad).<br /> &nbsp;</p> Mon, 12 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 10, 2018 <p>I wasn&#39;t sure about today&#39;s planned workout, but decided to try it anyways. Cheyenne and Ellie have both been congested/had sore throats this week, and I think it may have slightly crept on me too. I occasionally (like 3 times a day) get a hacking cough. I didn&#39;t have the energy to finish what was supposed to be 13 miles at M pace, so I settled for just an hour. 11 miles total in 1:20:16</p> <p>Wasn&#39;t going to run anymore today, but it is March 10th and it is 44 degrees with little wind in Idaho Falls. Had a really good recovery run, and I&#39;m feeling better about resuming training next week. Just six weeks out from SLC! (5 in 40:38)</p> Sat, 10 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Mar 09, 2018 <p>Feeling better than yesterday, although I have had one coughing fit that felt like a bug. Surprised when I had to come into work today. Got to use the gym in the early morning. Did some strides. Felt good! (6.6 in 49:58)</p> <p>Easy before dinner (2.6 in 20:29)</p> Fri, 09 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Mar 08, 2018 <p>6.3 easy at lunch time. (6.3 in 49:24)</p> <p>No evening run. Helping Cheyenne with cub scouts.</p> Thu, 08 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Mar 07, 2018 <p>Running outside the past two days has been very nice. What a great winter! (6.02 in 50:02)</p> <p>Treadmill before dinner. Pretty tired from yesterday&#39;s workout (3.9 in 30:45)</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 07 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Mar 06, 2018 <p>Lousy workout: 1 km, 1 min recovery, 1 mile, 1 min recovery, 10 minutes, 2 min recovery, 1 mile, 1 min recovery, 1 km. All at threshold effort. Averaged around 7:10-7:15/mi. Did some lousy strides afterwards. Just a lousy couple of days I guess! (8.02 in 1:00:09)</p> 4.7 easy before dinner (4.7 in 36:41) Tue, 06 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Mar 05, 2018 <p>6.6 easy with strides. Didn&#39;t feel 100%. Took the evening off and had such a good time with my wife and daughter after a slightly frustrating afternoon at work (6.6 in 49:55)</p> Mon, 05 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Mar 03, 2018 <p>90 light minutes in the morning with Indiana Jones and Hidden in the Heartland. (12.2 in 1:33:18)</p> <p>30 light minute in the afternoon around 3. (4.1 in 31:52)</p> Sat, 03 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Mar 02, 2018 <p>5.08 in the early morning, to have enough time to catch an early flight. On the Santa Cruz Parkway trail again. Goodbye Tucson! (5.08 in 40:12) Interestingly, this wasn&#39;t much slower than yestermorning&#39;s run, but felt so much more relaxed.</p> <p>6 on the treadmill at home after lunch. Watched some of Raiders of the Lost Ark (6 in 46:20)</p> Fri, 02 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Mar 01, 2018 <p>Moderate pace in the early morning on Santa Cruz Parkway. Was not satisfied with my performance for the level of effort I was giving (10.04 in 1:17:41)</p> <p>Ran up and around Tumamoc Hill after training ended early today, which was the last day of training. The hill was steeper than I expected but it was good elevation training that I don&#39;t get from running around my house in Idaho. Tucson is a beautiful place. I will be sad to leave, but so so happy to be back with my family tomorrow. I will have to take them here for a winter vacation sometime (5.43 in 47:46)</p> <p>On a side note, I got dinner at a place called WhataBurro, which is hilarious! (If you&#39;re familiar with Whataburger) The burritos (that&#39;s what they sell) there are actually pretty good. I recommend going there so you can say you&#39;ve had both a whataburger AND a whataburro, because what better thing to brag about is there?</p> Thu, 01 Mar 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 28, 2018 <p>Woke up to a power outage. Finally came on at 6am. I went to the hotel gym and used the loudest treadmill I&#39;ve ever heard for 5 miles.</p> <p>2.6 during lunch break (2.6 in 20 minutes)</p> Wed, 28 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 27, 2018 9.05 in the morning on the Santa Cruz River parkway trail with a fast final mile. 4.34 in the evening in the neighborhood around the Tucson temple. There were some good hills for incline training and the temple was also beautiful. It has a Jerusalem-like dome design. Tue, 27 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 26, 2018 In Tucson for a week of training. Running on the Santa Cruz River Parker. 8.04 miles in the morning with strides. 8.17 in the evening. Mon, 26 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Feb 24, 2018 <p>Easy 90 minutes. Kinda tired though...</p> Sat, 24 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Feb 23, 2018 <p>Good easy long run, slowly picking up the pace while staying comfortable. Felt really good (20 in 2:32:16)</p> Fri, 23 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Feb 22, 2018 <p>Opened up my running bag at work. Found that I had packed a shirt, boxers, and...another shirt...oops! No running today</p> Thu, 22 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Feb 21, 2018 <p>6.3 easy at lunch time. Definitely feel&nbsp;slightly sluggish after yesterday&#39;s workout.&nbsp;(6.3 in 49:31)</p> <p>3 easy before dinner.</p> Wed, 21 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Feb 20, 2018 <p>Solid workout at lunch time. 3x(2miles threshold with 2 minute recovery). This was a tought workout the last time I did it, which was in my last training cycle for the STG marathon. It went really well, and I even picked up the pace in the last mile of the last split with a good kick. Normal pace was 6:40/mi. Last mile was 6:34-6:20/mi, with the last minute as a 6:00/mi kick. (7.3 in 50:03)</p> <p>3 easy miles before dinner. (3 in 23:57)</p> Tue, 20 Feb 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Feb 19, 2018 <p>6.6 with strides at lunch time (6.6 in 49:50)</p> <p>2.9 easy before dinner (2.9 in 22:32)</p> Mon, 19 Feb 2018 07:00:00