Run Donald, Run! Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 16 Nov 2018 20:11:15 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Fri, Nov 16, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-16-2018.html <p>Home today. Treadmill workout. One mile warmup, then a half marathon, keeping the heart rate at 159-160bpm. Kept it pretty accurate the whole time. Started at 9 mph, then got down to 8.8mph by mile 5 and stayed there the rest of the run. Picked up the pace to 8.9 mph for mile 13 and 9 mph for the last 0.1. 1 mile cooldown. In total, the half marathon took 1:29:04, so I think I&#39;ve more successfully&nbsp;proven to myself that a sub-3 marathon in Ogden in May is&nbsp;feasible!</p> Fri, 16 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 15, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-15-2018.html <p>Early in. Some incline on the treadmill. (3.87 in 30:00)</p> Thu, 15 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 14, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-14-2018.html <p>Early in. Treadmill for a half hour with some pretty decent speed at the end. (3.97 in 30:00)</p> Wed, 14 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 13, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-13-2018.html <p>At home on the treadmill, started running before 4am. On the last episode of Chuck. Went to the temple. Made banana waffles for the first time, and the family really enjoyed it. Life is great! (7.87 in 1:00:00). Also, I&#39;m on the last episode of Chuck.<br /> &nbsp;</p> Tue, 13 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 12, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-12-2018.html <p>Short run with incline, about 300&#39; total. Early in. Treadmill. (3.85 in 30:00) Had to bring some shoes out of retirement until new ones come in the mail.</p> Mon, 12 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 10, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-10-2018.html <p>Early in. Long run on the treadmill. (16.4 in 2:02:09)</p> Sat, 10 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 09, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-09-2018.html <p>Early in. Easy on the treadmill with an ambitious speedup at the end. Wore my other pairs of skechers this morning and the same thing happened (see yesterday&#39;s post). I think the treadmill here at work is partially to blame, but skechers are also pretty cheap. Oh well, they&#39;ve both made more than their money&#39;s worth for me. I paid $40 for each of them. Now to find some new shoes. (7.85 in 1:00:00) Did some strength training this morning as well.</p> Fri, 09 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 08, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-08-2018.html <p>Early in.&nbsp; Treadmill workout. Tried to do a marathon pace workout, following the HR. Kept it as close to 160 as possible without going over for the first 40 minutes, then let it slowly climb and went by feel. Did the last 2 minutes at a strong pace (8.85 in 1:00:00)</p> Thu, 08 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 07, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-07-2018.html <p>Early in. Easy treadmill (7.82 in 1:00:00) My skechers GoMebs are too worn out now. Whatever outer layer they had on the soles is gone, and the next layer gets noticeably wiped off each time I run. Time to retire them.</p> Wed, 07 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 06, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-06-2018.html <p>Temple this morning, then lunch time run outside at work. I forgot to switch my watch to outdoor running, so the distance may be off, but based off prior experience, I&#39;d say it&#39;s only &plusmn;0.1 miles (5.08 in 41:33). Feeling a lot more energetic today than yesterday.</p> Tue, 06 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 05, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-05-2018.html <p>Felt very sluggish this morning, and my HR was way higher than expected. Definitely not in ship shape today... (7.68 in 1:00:00)<br /> &nbsp;</p> Mon, 05 Nov 2018 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 03, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-03-2018.html Treadmill/babysitting run. (16 in 2:00:05) Sat, 03 Nov 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Nov 02, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-02-2018.html <p>Was going to try a half marathon at goal marathon pace this morning. Changed it to an 8 mile marathon pace when that didn&#39;t work out. I think it would&#39;ve worked on a better day. Less than ideal nutrition and rest the day before. (15 in 1:46:28)</p> Fri, 02 Nov 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Nov 01, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-01-2018.html <p>Early in. Easy with a fast finish (3.97 in 30:00). Strength training before and after.</p> Thu, 01 Nov 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 31, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-31-2018.html <p>Early in. Easy with a little climb (~250&#39;) (3.84 in 30:00)<br /> &nbsp;</p> Wed, 31 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 30, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-30-2018.html <p>Early in. 4x400m (5:55/mi) on the treadmill with long rests in between (4.12 in 30:00)</p> Tue, 30 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 29, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-29-2018.html <p>Early in. Easy 30 minutes on the treadmill. Strength training (3.89 in 30:00)</p> Mon, 29 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 27, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-27-2018.html Easy long treadmill run. (13.27 in 1:41:30) Sat, 27 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 26, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-26-2018.html <p>Early in. 20 minutes easy. 20 minute tempo (6:40 pace), and then 6x1minute pickups. Was a decent sized workout just to see how things are. I&#39;m not really looking to get back into a training cycle yet. Next race is Ogden Full on May 18th and my goal is to BQ at that race.. (8.39 in 1:00:00)</p> Fri, 26 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 25, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-25-2018.html <p>Early in. Did it on an incline today. Fast finish, but pretty easy overall (7.79 in 1:00:00)</p> Thu, 25 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 24, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-24-2018.html <p>Early in. Easy with a 10-minute speed-up to M pace in the last 10 minutes (7.78 in 1:00:00)</p> Wed, 24 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 23, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-23-2018.html <p>Early run at home. Stayed home for the morning to go do a session, which was just what I needed! (7.76 in 1:00:00)</p> Tue, 23 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 22, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-22-2018.html <p>Early in. Easy run with an incline on the treadmill. I planned to run for an hour. Stopped at 56 minutes for suspect twinge in the achilles. I really am not sure whether it was anything or not, but it&#39;d be really lame if it turned out to be an issue and I didn&#39;t rest it. Will run again tomorrow (7.26 in 56:00)</p> Mon, 22 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 20, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-20-2018.html <p>Outside. Chilly. Easy run around the greenbelt (10.79 in 1:30:00)</p> Sat, 20 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 19, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-19-2018.html <p>Home treadmill. Easy buildup, all the way to marathon pace. It was a 13 mile buildup to 8.7 (6:55-ish pace), and it felt really good. Gradual cooldown afterwards for almost 2 miles. (14.8 in 1:50:03)</p> Fri, 19 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 18, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-18-2018.html <p>Early in. Easy with a steady speed-up to marathonish pace. (3.96 in 30:00)</p> Thu, 18 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 17, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-17-2018.html Early in. Strength training before and after the run. Easy with some incline. (3.88 in 30:00) Wed, 17 Oct 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Oct 16, 2018 http://Donald.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-16-2018.html <p>Easy, but this phlegm is unappreciated... (3.82 in 30:00) Did some strength training like yesterday.</p> Tue, 16 Oct 2018 06:00:00